
Affiliate disclosure: this article contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, UsefulVitamins.com earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
Everyday Dose and Ryze are the two mushroom coffees you cannot escape on Instagram, and both of their own blogs sit at the top of Google for this exact comparison. That makes a neutral verdict hard to find. We pulled current prices from both product pages, read both ingredient disclosures line by line, and did the milligram math that neither brand prints on the bag. These are the questions we run through before any mushroom product ends up in our own family's kitchen, and the answers here surprised us in one big way: the famous price gap between these two is basically gone.
Before you decide

Skip both products if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, on blood thinners or diabetes medication, or managing an autoimmune condition, unless your doctor clears functional mushrooms first. Mushroom extracts can interact with immune-modulating and blood-sugar medications, and coffee blends add caffeine on top. This article is not medical advice.
One more specific caution. Everyday Dose contains chaga extract, and chaga is naturally high in oxalates. A 2022 case report described kidney injury in a man taking 10 to 15 grams of chaga powder daily, which is far more than any coffee blend delivers, but if you have a history of kidney stones or kidney disease, chaga is worth a conversation with your doctor at any dose.
This comparison is for the person who has already decided they want a functional mushroom coffee and is choosing between the two biggest names. If you are still deciding whether mushrooms belong in your routine at all, start with our guide to functional mushrooms and come back.
What you're actually buying

The two products solve different problems, which both brands are oddly quiet about.
Everyday Dose Coffee+ is barely a mushroom product by weight. Per the company's own help center, the mild roast contains hydrolyzed bovine collagen peptides, coffee bean extract, L-theanine, organic chaga fruiting body double extract, and organic lion's mane fruiting body extract. The first ingredient is collagen, not coffee and not mushrooms. Marketing pages cite roughly 1,500 mg of combined lion's mane and chaga extract, about 4 g of collagen, and 150 mg of L-theanine per serving, and independent reviewers who weighed the label at Innerbody report similar totals. The caffeine is low: about 45 mg in the mild roast and about 90 mg in the bolder medium roast, per the help center.
Ryze Mushroom Coffee is a simpler idea: instant arabica coffee carrying a 2,000 mg blend of six mushrooms (cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, king trumpet, shiitake, lion's mane), which Ryze brands as the Super6. Ryze's own product page still describes the blend as enhanced with MCT, and bags and retailer listings show MCT oil and coconut milk powder; some newer listings instead show an organic prebiotic fiber blend of acacia, inulin, and tapioca, so check the label on the bag you actually receive; the recipe has shifted over time. Ryze says its mushrooms are grown in California and Nevada, and a medium-roast cup carries about 48 mg of caffeine (80 to 90 mg for the dark roast).
The sourcing question splits them cleanly. Everyday Dose states plainly that both of its extracts are 100% fruiting body. Ryze talks about "whole mushrooms" and beta-glucan content but does not state on the label whether you are getting fruiting body, mycelium, or both, and "whole mushroom" language often means the grain-grown mycelium is included. If that distinction is new to you, our breakdown of fruiting body versus mycelium in lion's mane products explains why it changes what is actually in your cup.
Head-to-head: who actually tells you the dose
Here is the finding that should shape your expectations for both products: neither brand publishes the milligrams of any individual mushroom in a serving.
Ryze hides the split inside the Super6 proprietary blend. You know the six species total 2,000 mg, and that is all. Split evenly that is roughly 333 mg per mushroom, but proprietary blends are almost never split evenly; the cheap species usually dominate. Reviewers who have examined the bag confirm the label shows no per-mushroom breakdown. You also do not know the extract ratio, so 2,000 mg of "mushrooms" could mean anything from concentrated extract to dried powder.
Everyday Dose hides differently. Its pitch is transparency ("only 5 ingredients"), and it does publish more than Ryze: fruiting-body sourcing, double extraction for chaga, a combined mushroom figure around 1,500 mg, and a public certificate of analysis for contaminants. But the per-mushroom split and the extract concentration are still not on the label, and the company's own ingredient FAQ quantifies nothing except caffeine. Transparent-ish is not the same as transparent.
Why the milligrams matter: the classic double-blind trial of lion's mane for mild cognitive impairment used 3,000 mg of mushroom powder per day for 16 weeks. Even if Everyday Dose's entire 1,500 mg were lion's mane (it is not; chaga shares the total), you would be at half that dose. Ryze's whole six-species blend is two thirds of it. Extract concentration could narrow the gap, which is exactly why brands that use strong extracts print the ratio proudly. Neither of these does.
The numbers side by side

Everything below comes from brand pages and retailer listings checked in August 2026. Where a brand does not publish a number, the cell says so, because a guess would defeat the point of this article.
| Spec | Everyday Dose Coffee+ (mild) | Ryze Mushroom Coffee (medium) |
|---|---|---|
| Mushroom species | 2 (lion’s mane, chaga) | 6 (cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, king trumpet, shiitake, lion’s mane) |
| Total mushroom claim | ~1,500 mg combined (marketing figure) | 2,000 mg blend |
| Per-mushroom doses | Not published | Not published |
| Extract strength/ratio | Not published (states “double extract” for chaga) | Not published |
| Fruiting body vs mycelium | 100% fruiting body (stated) | “Whole mushrooms”; not specified on label |
| Other actives | ~4 g collagen, 150 mg L-theanine | MCT oil and coconut milk powder per Ryze’s page; some listings show a prebiotic fiber blend (label varies) |
| Caffeine per cup | ~45 mg (90 mg medium roast) | ~48 mg (80-90 mg dark roast) |
| One-time price, 30 servings | about $40-45 as of August 2026 | about $45 list as of August 2026 |
| Subscription price | about $36 as of August 2026 | about $36 refill as of August 2026 |
| Intro offer | about $27-29 with starter kit | about $27 first order (40% off promo) |
| Vegan | No (bovine collagen) | Yes |
Two things stand out. First, the caffeine story is nearly identical in the standard roasts, and both sit far below a regular cup; the FDA pegs a safe adult intake around 400 mg per day, which is two to three normal 12-ounce coffees, so either product leaves you enormous headroom. Second, the "Not published" row is the most important row in the table, and it applies equally to both brands.
Price per cup: the honest math
You will find older comparisons (and plenty of Reddit threads) claiming Everyday Dose costs double or more per serving versus Ryze. Whatever was true then, it is not true at current list prices. Here is the math as of August 2026.
Ryze's 30-serving bag lists at $45 one-time ($1.50 per cup), with subscription refills at $36 ($1.20 per cup). The heavily advertised $27 price ($0.90 per cup) is a first-order promotion, not the ongoing rate, and that distinction has generated a steady stream of billing complaints from people who missed it.
Everyday Dose runs the same playbook at nearly the same numbers: roughly $40 to $45 one-time depending on the listing, about $36 on subscription ($1.20 per cup), and rotating starter-kit offers around $27 to $29 with a free frother and cup. On subscription, the two products cost about the same $1.20 per cup.
The fairer cost lens is cost per milligram of mushroom, and it cuts both ways. Ryze gives you about 2,000 mg of (unspecified) mushroom material per $1.20 cup; Everyday Dose gives you about 1,500 mg of stated fruiting-body extract plus 4 g of collagen and 150 mg of L-theanine for the same $1.20. If you only care about mushroom mass, Ryze wins on paper. If extract quality and the extras matter to you, Everyday Dose packs more total active ingredients into the cup. Neither publishes enough for a true potency-per-dollar calculation, which is the honest ceiling on any comparison here.
Who should pick Everyday Dose (and who Ryze)
Pick Everyday Dose if the fruiting-body question decides things for you. It is the only one of the two that states its sourcing on the label, and for lion's mane specifically the fruiting body carries the hericenones most people are buying it for. The 150 mg of L-theanine is also the best-supported ingredient in either product: a controlled trial of L-theanine with caffeine found the combination improved attention speed and accuracy at doses (100 mg theanine, 50 mg caffeine) very close to what one cup of the mild roast delivers. Ironically, the clinically dosed ingredient in this mushroom coffee is not a mushroom.
Everyday Dose is also the pick if you want low caffeine with a soft landing, or if you are already buying collagen separately and would rather get it in one scoop. It is not the pick if you are vegan (bovine collagen) or if chaga's oxalate profile concerns you; readers weighing chaga against other options can see our chaga versus reishi comparison for how the two differ.
Pick Ryze if you want breadth over specificity. Six species means you touch cordyceps, reishi, and turkey tail alongside lion's mane in one daily cup. It is vegan, USDA organic, US-grown, and the creamy taste is the most common reason people stay subscribed. If you cannot decide between energy-leaning and focus-leaning mushrooms, a broad blend postpones the decision, though our lion's mane versus cordyceps head-to-head can help you make it properly.
Ryze is not the pick if label specificity matters to you. A six-species proprietary blend inside 2,000 mg means each mushroom's dose is unknowable, and the fruiting-body question is unanswered on the bag.
What to look for when buying
Whichever way you lean, the same checklist applies to any mushroom coffee, and it is the one we use ourselves.
Demand a stated extract source. Fruiting body, mycelium, or both, printed on the label. Vague "whole mushroom" language usually means grain-grown mycelium is in the mix, and the grain carrier counts toward the weight you are paying for.
Look for per-species milligrams and an extract ratio. The supplement industry's track record here is poor: a 2017 analysis of 19 US reishi supplements found only 5 matched their label claims for measured bioactive compounds. A brand that prints "500 mg of 8:1 lion's mane fruiting body extract" is making a claim a lab can check. A brand that prints "proprietary blend, 2,000 mg" is not.
Check for a public certificate of analysis covering heavy metals, mold, and mycotoxins. Everyday Dose posts one; that is genuinely to its credit and still uncommon in this category.
Do the subscription math before checkout. Both brands anchor you with a first-bag discount near $27 and refill at about $36. Set a calendar reminder before the second charge, and decide at full price whether the cup earns its spot.
Finally, be honest about the format. Coffee is a pleasant delivery vehicle but a weak dosing vehicle; if you decide you want study-level amounts of a specific mushroom, our tincture versus powder guide covers formats that let you measure what you are taking.
As an Amazon Associate, UsefulVitamins.com earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products supported by published research or third-party testing.
FAQ
Do Everyday Dose or Ryze publish exact mushroom doses?
No. Ryze discloses a 2,000 mg six-mushroom proprietary blend with no per-species breakdown. Everyday Dose cites about 1,500 mg of combined lion's mane and chaga extract in marketing but quantifies only caffeine in its official ingredient FAQ. Neither states an extract ratio, so potency per cup is unverifiable for both.
Which has more caffeine?
They are nearly tied in their standard versions: about 45 mg per cup for Everyday Dose mild and about 48 mg for Ryze medium roast. Both offer a stronger option at 80 to 90 mg. A typical cup of regular coffee lands higher than any of these, so both products are genuinely "half-caf or less."
Is Ryze fruiting body or mycelium?
Ryze does not say on its label. It uses "whole mushroom" language and highlights beta-glucan content, but it does not specify the fruiting body versus mycelium split. Everyday Dose explicitly states 100% fruiting body extracts for both of its mushrooms.
Which is cheaper in 2026?
They now cost about the same. As of August 2026 both run roughly $45 one-time and about $36 on subscription for 30 servings, which is about $1.20 per cup. Both dangle a first-order price near $27. Older articles claiming a large per-serving gap are out of date.
Can I drink either while pregnant or on medication?
Ask your doctor first. Functional mushrooms can interact with immune-modulating and blood-sugar medications, chaga adds an oxalate consideration for anyone with kidney issues, and pregnancy safety data for concentrated mushroom extracts is thin for every brand, not just these two.
Does the collagen in Everyday Dose actually matter?
At about 4 g per serving it is a real inclusion rather than label decoration, and it is the main reason the product is not vegan. Whether collagen itself earns a place in your routine is a separate question from mushrooms; treat it as a bonus, not the reason to choose the product.
The bottom line
Everyday Dose vs Ryze is not a price decision anymore, and it was never really a potency decision, because neither brand shows you the numbers that would settle one. Both hide per-mushroom doses, both skip extract ratios, and both cost about $1.20 a cup on subscription as of August 2026. What is left is a clean formula choice. Everyday Dose is the focused option: two stated fruiting-body extracts, clinically plausible L-theanine, collagen, and low caffeine, with chaga's oxalate caveat attached. Ryze is the breadth option: six species, vegan and organic, with the least transparent label of the two. We would drink either for the ritual and treat any cognitive lift as a bonus, and if we wanted a mushroom dose we could actually defend, we would buy the mushroom separately and keep the coffee as coffee.


